Quick Donate

Zakat FAQs



Zakat FAQs

  • Who Must Pay Zakat?

    Zakat must be paid by:

    1- A Muslim: A non-Muslim is not obligated to pay zakat as it is a form of worship within Islam. In the same manner, according to the vast majority of scholars (some opine a consensus), non-Muslims are not given zakat. They should be supported via general sadaqah.
    2- A person who reached the age of puberty (baligh)
    A person must be at the age of puberty to qualify as a zakat payer. Minors are not under a fard obligation to perform acts of ibadah such as prayers (salaat) and fasting (saum) because they lack legal capacity. They are accordingly exempt from paying zakat by reason of absence of legal capacity.
    3- A sane person
    4- Sahib-un-nisaab (owner of wealth above the level of nisab)
    There are differences of opinion regarding the following:
    - The orphan
    - The child (pre-puberty)
    - The mad / insane

    Other than the Hanafi madhab, the other three schools of thought say that zakat should be paid on behalf of orphans, children and those mentally challenged. The payment has to be made from the assets of the types of people aforementioned.

  • Who would be the Recipients of Zakaat?

    There are eight categories of people to whom zakat can be distributed. These have been identified as:

    1) Al-Fuqara: The Poor
    This refers to those who do not own any zakatable assets or surplus assets which equate to the nisab.

    2) Al-Masakin: The Needy
    According to some scholars, they are those whose economic status is worse than the needy. In essence, they refer to those people who do not own any zakatable assets or surplus assets which equate to the nisab.

    3) Al-‘Amilina ‘Alayha: Administrators of Zakat
    These are officials of the zakat department of the authorities.  Zakat is given to them as part of their salary in the service of zakat.  It is not a condition for this category to be poor and needy. A wealthy administrator can also receive zakat.

    4) Al-Mu’allafah Qulubuhum: Reconciliation of Hearts
    Zakat was given to some people to soften their hearts and to draw them closer to Islam and the Muslims. Hence, the following three types of people were given zakat:
    Those who are inclined to accept Islam
    Those who have just embraced Islam
    Opposition from whom fear is perceived

    5) Fir-Riqab: For those in Bondage
    Zakat may be allocated to help Muslims free themselves from slavery.

    6) Al-Gharimin: Those in Debt
    Zakat may be given to those in debt. Any person whose liabilities exceed his zakatable and surplus assets can receive zakat to pay off the debt.  It is not necessary to give the zakat in his hand. Zakat can be given to the creditor on behalf of the debtor with the latter’s acknowledgement.

    7) Fi-Sabilillah: In the Cause of Allah
    Muslim jurists differ on who or what can be covered under this category, although, most seem to agree that it primarily refers to the defence of Islam.

    8) Ibn as-Sabil: The Wayfarer
    A wayfarer refers to a person who does not have access to his funds despite being wealthy.  A good example of this is a traveller who left his home for a lawful purpose and does not have access to any of his funds back home.  Such a person will be regarded as ibn as-Sabil.

  • Should Recipients be told it is Zakat?

    If zakat is given to any individual, it does not need to be declared as zakat. This is because the recipient may be hesitant or uncomfortable because they may not believe they are needy or eligible enough to receive zakat. The following must be considered:


    §  Recipients should be assessed individually and not as a family

    §  However, if the close relative fits into the categories of other types of recipients, such as being a zakat collector, then he can be given zakat for that

    §  If the relative is not a close relative, zakat can be given to them directly as long as they meet the criteria to be eligible to receive it

Let's make a change


Gift of Health

People in poor communities are much more likely to be disabled than those living in wealthier parts of the world. One of the main reasons is they are at much greater risk of diseases or conditions that can cause disability.


Gift of Shelter

A person’s house is his castle. Housing and shelter are a basic human right and essential gifts of life that everyone should have.


Gift of Education

Being a Muslim requires certain obligations to be fulfilled. What is the best and preferred opinions, only through learning one can take an informed and wise decision.